2PM and the Hottest


Concept: Whatever they want, they go for soft espcially dance catchy tune
Debut: September 4th, 2008
Debut Song(s): 10 out of 10
Status: Hiatus (all of them have solo now)
Agency: JYP Entertainment
Fandom Name: Hottest



Prime Lineup

1. Jaebeom/Jay Park (Park Jae Beom) 박재범

Role: Leader, ex-VIP, Vocalist

Left in 2009/2010. Thank you K-netizens from the Empire T-ara with hate


2. Nickhun (Nichkhun Buck Horvejkul) นิชคุณ หรเวชกุล

Role: Rapper, Vocalist, Visual



3. Junho (Lee Jun Ho) 이준호

Role: Main Vocalist, Lead Dancer



4. Junsu (Kim Min Jun) 김민준

Role: Main Vocalist



5. Chansung (Hwang Chan Sung) 황찬성

Role: Lead Vocalist, Youngest Member, Dancer



6. Taecyeon (Ok Taec Yeon) 옥택연

Role: Visual, Main Rapper



7. Wooyoung (Jang Woo Young) 장우영

Role: Lead Vocalist, Main Dancer




Originally meant to be an eleven-member piece known as One Day, 2PM was formed after JYP decided to instead split this eleven piece group into two boy groups instead: 2AM and Jay Park and the Boys 2PM. Known as the Beastly Idols for their strong images, 2PM was probably THE second biggest boy group in Kpop in the late 2000s to the early 2010s (after Big Bang).

2PM officially debuted with the single “10 Out of 10” (10점 만점에 10점) on September 4th, 2008 to little fanfare. In April 2009, the group released their second mini album, 2:00PM Time For Change, which they began promoting that month with the single “Again and Again”. In May they won their first Mutizen Song award on M!Countdown, followed by two more and a Music Bank award. The single also became their first (of multiple) number 1 songs, peaking at 1 on the Gaon Chart.

Unfortunately, swiftly after their first taste of success came a controversy regarding Jay Park (then known as Jaebeom). On September 4, 2009, articles surfaced regarding his posts from 2005 on his personal Myspace account, in which he expressed his dislike for Korea. These posts were obtained by a netizen who hacked his account and they quickly started a firestorm among the Korean media. Although Jay Park issued an apology for the posts, netizens still demanded that he be removed from 2PM. Though backed by JYP, Jay Park would soon announce on his official fancafe that he would leave the group and return to the United States for a bit. Thus, Park Jin-young (JYP’s CEO) confirmed that 2PM would continue on as a six-member group
Despite the controversy, the group went ahead with release of its first studio album, 01:59PM (HAHA so punny), on November 10th, 2009. The album included tracks voiced by Jay Park although his face was excluded from the cover. In support of him, the six 2PM members decided to equally split their income from this album with him. In late November 2009, after two weeks of promotional activities for the 1:59PM, 2PM earned their first win on a music show (Music Bank) since the album’s release, with “Heartbeat”, which went on to take win on Music Bank three more times. In addition, “Heartbeat” also won the Triple Crown on Inkigayo.

A week and a half after the album’s release, 2PM performed at and was honored at the Mnet Asian Music Awards and won Best Male Group and Artist of the Year. The group paid homage to Jay Park during their performance of “Again & Again”, where a spotlight shone over Jaebeom’s usual position in the dance formation, and his vocals played over the speakers without being replaced. 2PM capped off the year with a cherry on top when, on 30 December 2009, at KBS’s end of the year Music Festival, “Again & Again” was recognized as “Song of the Year”.

In April 2010, the band released the mini-album “Don’t Stop Can’t Stop”, consisting of six tracks and the lead single “Without U” which reached number one on several Korean music charts. 2PM intended for the release to illustrate a stronger side of themselves than did their previous releases, showing they were fine in the wake of Jay Park’s departure. In 2010 summer, 2PM held their 1st concert series on starting from July 31st in Seoul. More than 12,000 fans attended 2PM’s first concerts. 2PM performed all their hit-songs since 2008 plus solo performance from each member. They then held two encore concerts in Seoul on September 4th-5th to celebrate their second anniversary.

In October 2010, 2PM released their fourth EP, “Still 2:00PM”, with the lead single “I’ll Be Back” staying at number one for two consecutive weeks on Music Bank. 2PM further showed their worldwide fanbase power when on November 2010, “Still 2:00PM” debuted unexpectedly on the 13th spot of the Billboard’s World Album-Chart though no promotions for the album were made in the United States. Capping off the year, 2PM officially made their Japanese debut in December 2010 with their first live event in Japan at the Ryogoku Kokugikan Gymnasium.

They continued their ventures into Japan in 2011, when, in May 2011, they released their Japanese debut-single, “Take Off.” 2PM’s first Japanese concert tour, known as the “2PM 1st Japan Tour 2011 Take Off,” began in Sapporo on 6 May and ended a week later in Tokyo.
2PM’s second studio album, “Hands Up.” was released on June 20th, 2011. For the first time, the album featured two songs composed by 2PM members: “HOT” by Minjun and “Give it to Me” by Junho. The promotion period for the album was short; it ended just one month after the album’s release. This allowed the band to prepare for their Japanese promotions and for their “Hands Up Asia Tour.” On November 30th, 2011, 2PM released their first Japanese studio album, “Republic of 2PM”, containing all of their Japanese singles released to date (Take Off, I’m Your Man and Ultra Lover) plus the Japanese version of their most recent Korean single “Hands Up” and 5 other completely new songs. The album was a mass success. When Oricon (the Japanese charts) released their sales records for 2011, 2PM was revealed as the second best-selling new artist in Japan, grossing with 990 million yen (12.68 million USD) on the strengths of only singles, albums and DVDs sales.

After more than a year, 2PM made their Korean comeback in 2013 with their third studio album, “Grown”, with the lead single “Comeback When You Hear This Song”. The group made their promotional appearance for the album was on M.net’s M! Countdown on 16 May, where they performed “A.D.T.O.Y.” (the other lead single on the album) and “Comeback When You Hear This Song”. The album was a commercial success, peaking at number 1 on the Gaon Weekly Chart and number 2 on the Gaon Monthly Chart. “Comeback When You Hear This Song” peaked at number 7 on the Gaon charts.
Another year passed before 2PM made their next Korean comeback on September 10th, 2014 when the group released their official music video for the dance track “GO CRAZY!”, the lead single on their album of the same name (their fourth studio album) on JYP Entertainment’s official YouTube account, which garnered over 1 million views in the first 24 hours. They made their comeback performance on M!Countdown the next day. The album saw decent success, peaking at number 3 on the Gaon’s Weekly chart and finishing at number 4 on the Gaon Monthly Chart.

2PM’s fifth studio album, No.5, was released on June 15th, 2015. The album was a huge success, peaking at number 1 on the Gaon Weekly Chart and climbing to number 3 on Billboard World Album Chart. Their sixth studio album, “Gentlemen’s Game” with the lead single “Promise (I’ll Be)”, was released on September 13th, 2016, as a celebration of their 8th anniversary. It would be their last album before the members started their military enlistment. They are thus currently still in hiatus with several members, Wooyoung and Jun K. still enlisted for their mandatory military service. Fans await with bated breath for their next comeback.

Lead Tracks

– Again Again:

– Hands Up:
– Go Crazy:
– A.D.T.O.Y:
– My House:


– Uneasy:

– Tik Tok:

You must be logged in to post a comment